Two DAMTP First Prize Winners in 2013 EPSRC Science Photography Competition

There were two DAMTP first prize winners (out of five awarded in total) in the 2013 EPSRC Science Photography competition.


flymeIn the People category Dr Carola Schoenlieb (who leads the Image Analysis Group), Joana Grah (visiting student from University of Muenster) and Kostas Papafitsoros (PhD student in Cambridge Centre for Analysis) won First Prize for their in the People category. Their photograph shows Joana appearing to float, with the stool on which she was sitting in the original image having been removed using a digital inpainting technique.


Rayleigh-TaylorIn the Discovery category Megan Davies Wykes won First Prize for her photograph of Rayleigh-Taylor Instability. Megan is a PhD student working with Dr Stuart Dalziel in the GK Batchelor Laboratory.