9th International Workshop on the Physics of Compressible Turbulent Mixing
Cambridge, UK
19-23 July 2004



First Announcement


This workshop focuses on fundamental aspects of turbulent mixing in flows subject to destabilising acceleration in both compressible and incompressible fluids. Specific topics include (but are not limited to):

      Rayleigh-Taylor instability

      Richtmyer-Meshkov instability

      Mixing layers

      Coherent structures

      Experimental, numerical and theoretical studies

      Novel numerical and experimental techniques

      Direct numerical simulation, large-eddy simulation and turbulence models

      Relating 2D and 3D models and flows



The workshop will include both oral and poster presentations, along with both general and round table discussion sessions.


A Proceedings will be published on CD-ROM shortly after the workshop.


Centre for Mathematical Sciences

Oral and poster presentations will be given in the Centre for Mathematical Sciences (CMS; www.cms.cam.ac.uk), University of Cambridge, UK. This 65M development, completed at the end of 2002, is the new home for the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP; www.damtp.cam.ac.uk) and its sister department the Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics. CMS is located alongside the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, and only a short walk to the west of the centre of the historical University city of Cambridge (www.cam.ac.uk; www.cambridge.gov.uk/leisure/TICWEB/tourism.htm).

Clare College

Accommodation and meals for around 120 participants will be provided in Clare College (www.clare.cam.ac.uk). Founded in 1326, Clare College is the second oldest of the 31 colleges in Cambridge, and is located on the picturesque backs alongside the River Cam. (Cambridge also offers a range of hotels and other accommodation, should you wish to organise your own.)


The registration fee and cost of accommodation/meals are not yet finalised. However, it is anticipated that the total cost will be comparable with the last meeting in Pasedena.

Important Dates

September 2003: Second announcement and Call for Papers

January 2004 Abstract deadline

February 2004 Acceptance of abstracts

April 2004 Registration and accommodation deadline

18 July 2004 Welcome reception

19-23 July 2004 Presentations

September 2004 Deadline for material to be included in proceedings

October 2004 Publication of proceedings on CD-ROM


Stuart Dalziel

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

Centre for Mathematical Sciences

University of Cambridge

Wilberforce Road

Cambridge CB3 0WA



E-mail: s.dalziel@damtp.cam.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (1223) 337911

Fax: +44 (1223) 765900



For further information, please visit the workshop web page at www.damtp.cam.ac.uk/iwpctm9/


To register your interest in receiving future announcements, please e-mail s.dalziel@damtp.cam.ac.uk and include IWPCTM9 in the subject line.


Local Organizing Committee:

S. Dalziel (University of Cambridge)

J. Holford (University of Cambridge)

R. Williams (AWE)

D. Youngs (AWE)

International Scientific Committee:

G. Ben-Dor (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer-Sheeva)

D. Besnard (CEA)

T. Clark (LANL)

S. Dalziel (University of Cambridge)

G. Dimonte (LLNL)

S. Gauthier (CEA)

J. Glimm (Stony Brook)

B. Goodwin (LLNL)

J-F Haas (CEA)

N. Hoffman (LANL)

L. Houas (IUSTI)

J. Jacobs (University of Arizona)

Yu. Kucherenko (Russian Federal Nuclear Center-VNIITF)

M. Legrand (CEA)

D. Meiron (Caltech)

E. Meshkov (Russian Federal Nuclear Center-VNIIEF)

V. Neuvazhaev (Russian Federal Nuclear Center-VNIITF)

T. Peyser (LLNL)

J. Redondo (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona)

V. Rozanov (Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow)

O. Schilling (LLNL)

D. Sharp (LANL)

D. Shvarts (Nuclear Research Center, Beer-Sheeva)

E. Son (Moscow Physical and Technical Institute)

H. Takabe (University of Osaka)

K. Takayama (Tohoku University, Sendai)

D. Youngs (AWE)

S. Zaytsev (ENIN, Moscow)

Previous workshops in series

Princeton, NJ, USA (1988)

Pleasanton, CA, USA (1989)

Royaumont, France (1991)

Cambridge, UK (1993)

Stony Brook, NY, USA (1995)

Marseille, France (1997)

St. Petersburg, Russia (1999)

Pasadena, CA, USA (2001)