The Very Early Universe

Confirmed speakers

Jim Bardeen Renata Kallosh George Smoot
Dick Bond Demosthenes Kazanas David Spergel
Robert Brandenberger Justin Khoury Paul Steinhardt
Cliff Burgess Andrew Liddle Alexei Starobinsky
Ed Copeland Andrei Linde Katsuhiko Sato
Gia Dvali David Lyth Michael Turner
Gary Gibbons Slava Mukhanov Neil Turok
Alan Guth Don Page Henry Tye
Jim Hartle Martin Rees Alex Vilenkin
Stephen Hawking Eva Silverstein Frank Wilczek
Shamit Kachru

Further information


The Very Early Universe 25 Years On meeting will be held from Monday 17th December until Thursday 20th December 2007. There will be a welcome reception on the evening of Sunday 16th December and the banquet will be held on Wednesday 19th December. Further details about the programme are available on the workshop programme page, which will be updated as the meeting approaches.

Stop press: There will be a live webcast of the lectures as they are delivered. Please go to the programme page to see how this live streaming can be accessed.

Conference venue:

The workshop will be held at the Centre for Mathematical Sciences in west Cambridge and invited participants will be accommodated in the new Stephen Hawking House which is part of Gonville and Caius College (please see the location details page).

Travel information can be found on the travel page. If you have not booked flights already, please do so now as this is a busy period.

CTC launch:

To coincide with the workshop, we shall hold a public launch event for the new Centre for Theoretical Cosmology (CTC) in Cambridge (press release and brochure linked).

Organising committee:

Anne Davis 
Gary Gibbons
Stephen Hawking
Malcolm Perry
Fernando Quevedo
Paul Shellard (chair)
David Tong
Neil Turok

Contact details:

Further information can be obtained by email:

This will reach Paul Shellard, Susan Gadsby and/or Amanda Stagg. We are very grateful to Manda and Sue for their help with this CTC workshop.

For press enquiries, please contact Judith Croasdell (