My life up to now

 

I grew up in the little town of Andijk, in the province North-Holland in the Netherlands, where I attended primary school and highschool. My mum and dad are still living and working there; my mum as a bookkeeper, my dad as a broker.

 

 

My sister Fleur is a medical doctor and a General Practitioner (GP) and lives in the town of Delfgauw, The Netherlands.

 

 

When I moved to Enschede for my undergraduate studies, I met my wonderful husband Mark. We got married in May 2006.

 

 

At the University of Twente in Enschede, The Netherlands, I successfully obtained my "ingenieursdiploma" in Mechanical Engineering in 2004. Our academic interests took us away from the Netherlands, to the "Golden state" of California, USA. Mark and I lived in Pasadena, a suburb of Los Angeles, from September 2004 until December 2009.

 

 

Mark and I obtained our master's degree in Aeronautics at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena in June 2005. I continued for my PhD degree in Mechanical Engineering and Geophysics at the same institution, which I obtained in June 2010.

 

 

In October 2010, our wonderful son Tim was born. He is a delightful and happy baby and brightens our days!

 

 

In March 2013, our delightful son Ben was born, a brother for Tim. He is a cheeky monkey and brings us smiles everyday!

 

 

Currently, we live in Cambridge, UK where I am a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin research fellow at the University of Cambridge. My field research has taken me from the sand dunes in the boiling hot deserts in California to the sub-zero temperatures in the snowy Alps where I investigate snow avalanches.