skip to content

Fluid Mechanics in the Spirit of G.K. Batchelor

This meeting is to commemorate the life and work of George Batchelor (1920 – 2000). George was a towering figure in the field of fluid mechanics carrying out ground-breaking research on turbulence and then on micro-hydrodynamics. In addition to his personal research George established the DAMTP where this meeting is being held. DAMTP has trained many prominent researchers in fluid mechanics from the UK and around the world and hosted many academic visitors working in the subject.

Globally, George founded the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, arguably the most highly-regarded and influential journal in the field that is read by scholars world-wide. He also fostered international collaboration by being one of the founders of EUROMECH and he played a prominent role in IUTAM, both of which are sponsoring this meeting along with Cambridge University Press that publishes JFM. He also took personal leads in establishing contact with scientists behind the Iron Curtain and with China once relations softened at the end of the Cultural Revolution.

This meeting, sponsored by EUROMECH, IUTAM and Cambridge University Press will celebrate these achievements by bringing together 50 invited speakers from around the world. These will include Plenary lectures from the three previous Batchelor Prize winners, Howard Stone (Princeton, USA), Detlef Lohse (Twente, Netherlands) and Ray Golsdstein (Cambridge, UK), and plenary lectures from Berengere Dubrulle (SPEC, Saclay, France), Rama Govindarajan (ICTS, Bengaluru, India) and Xiaojing Zheng (Lanzhou, China).

In addition to the invited contributed talks, we are inviting abstract submissions from Early Career Researchers. If you are an ECR (within 5 years of receiving your PhD) wish to submit an abstract please visit the Pre-registration page.

If you wish to attend the meeting, with the possibility of submitting a poster visit the Pre-registration page. Please note that spaces are strictly limited.


Pre-registration is now open (click here)

closes 1st November 2019