Postgraduate Admissions to Astrophysics Group

DAMTP PhD Studentships

PhD supervisors

A selection of potential PhD supervisors (left: Roman Rafikov, right: Henrik Latter).

Entry requirements:
The usual minimum entry requirement is a 1st class honours degree after a four-year course in mathematics, physics or engineering, or a three-year degree plus a postgraduate course on advanced applied mathematics and theoretical physics. Part III of the Mathematical Tripos (also known as Master of Mathematics/Master of Advanced Study) provides such a course and graduates from outside Cambridge frequently take it as a fourth-year course.
DAMTP deadline:
The deadline for applications is the end of January each year, unless you require funding from the Cambridge Trust, in which case earlier deadlines apply. However, later applications will be considered where possible. For more detailed information please go to and
There are other awards available from Cambridge sources outside DAMTP. The Graduate Admissions website contains an up-to-date guide. See also the Student Registry for funding-related information.

EU and Overseas PhD Studentships

Funding for European Union and Overseas Students:
Applicants from the European Union (EU) will be considered for available STFC funding to cover their fees. Applications should also be made to: Cambridge European Trust, Isaac Newton Studentship. Some Cambridge Colleges offer scholarships and there are also some country-specific awards for study at Cambridge, both of which are covered in detail by CamFunds.
The deadlines for applying for funding from the Cambridge Commonwealth and Overseas Trusts are relatively early in the admission cycle and early application is advised.
Funding from the EU or from sources within your own country for study abroad might be possible. Your own current university should have information about the range of options available.

Applying for a PhD

Application Procedure:
You need to apply using the online application portal. Instructions can be found here. The Graduate Admissions website also contains useful information for applicants.
Students who wish to be considered for a PhD place in more than one Department in Cambridge (e.g. DAMTP and the Institute of Astronomy) should make a separate application to each Department as they have independent admissions procedures. In some cases it may be advisable to contact potential supervisors in advance to determine which Department is most suitable for the applicant.

Past Theses

Shown below are some of the titles that former students have submitted for their PhD. If known, a link to the full thesis is included.
Dr. Harry Braviner
PhD Thesis: Stellar and Planetary Tides at Small Orbital Radii
Dr. Paul Bushby
PhD Thesis: Nonlinear Dynamos in Stars
Dr. Cara Donnelly
PhD Thesis: Shearing Waves and the Accretion Disc Dynamo
Dr. Barbara Ferreira
PhD Thesis: Variability of black-hole accretion discs: a theoretical study
Dr. Tobias Heinemann
PhD Thesis: The dynamics of spiral density waves in turbulent accretion discs
Dr. Min-Kai Lin
PhD Thesis: Dynamical instabilities in disc-planet interactions
Dr. Peter Mann
PhD Thesis: Nonlinear flux transport dynamos
Dr. Joel Miller
PhD Thesis: Shear-flow Instabilities in Viscoelastic Fluids
Sargam Mulay
PhD Thesis: EUV Spectroscopy of Solar Active Region Jets
Dr. Anna Railton
PhD Thesis: The Structure and Stability of Vortices in Astrophysical Discs
Dr. Hanno Rein
PhD Thesis: The effects of stochastic forces on the evolution of planetary systems and Saturn's rings
Dr. Mark Rosin
PhD Thesis: Instabilities and transport in magnetized plasmas
Dr. Stephen Thomson
PhD Thesis: A New Model of Jupiter's Jet Streams and the Effects of Moist Convection
Dr. Toby Wood
PhD Thesis: The solar tachocline: a self-consistent model of magnetic confinement